• Kandy

Kandy was the last kingdom in Sri Lanka and also is home to the sacred tooth relic. Kandy survived the attacks of Ceylon’s first two colonial rulers—the Portuguese and the Dutch, however fiinally fell to the third and last colonial ruler, the British, in 1815.

While under Portuguese rule, Kandy allied itself with the Dutch, and then while under the Dutch rule, it sought assistance from the British. The British considered the continued independence of Kandy a hindrance, and first attacked the kingdom of Kandy in 1803. By 1815, the Kandyan chiefs who had become dissatisfied with their tyrannical king, alligned themselves with the british, and worked to oust the kandyan king. In 1815, the Kandyan Convention was signed, removing the Kandyan king and vesting sovereignty with the British crown.